Yoga is the control of mental modifications
By practice of Asana the body becomes diseases-free and healthy.
By Pranayama the mind and senses are purified.
Concentration on the whole divine form is meditation

“There is no attachment than worldly attachment,

There is no power than yoga,
No friend like true knowledge and no enemies than ego of human being.”

                                                       ‘Gheranda Samhita’


The Yoga Path

These are five kind of yoga: Jnana Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Karma Yoga, and Mantra Yoga & Raja Yoga. According to Patanjali, there are eight fold path of Yoga:

  1. Yama (discipline)
  2. Niyama (Restraint)
  3. Asana (Posture)
  4. Pranayama (Breath control)
  5. Pratyahara (Sense withdrawal)
  6. Dharma (Concentration)
  7. Dhyana (Meditation)
  8. Samadhi (Ecstasy)

There is another ancient text book of India ‘Gheranda Samhita’ written by Maharishi Gheranda introduces 32 Asana, 8 Pranayamas and 25 Mudras. We follow this text book. Our syllabus based on this text book.


Prana means vital energy and yama means control. Pranayama is breathing exercise. In this Pranayama, breath control begins to develop. In the formal practice of Pranayama, instead of focusing on creating certain positions with the body, the mind is directed exclusively toward the breath. This is done by trying to control the breath through specific breathing exercise.

Pranayama comprises a series of breathing exercise that calms the mind, improve the condition of the abdominal and chest area and eliminate toxins from the body. One who practice pranayama regularly his mind becomes calm and good concentration power. One becomes happy, no stress, good stamina.


The third path of Yoga is asana. The practice of Postures and movements designed for certain purpose. Asana practice helps bring the body into a healthier & sensitive state and it introduces the most important posture. The practice of relaxation puts us into a more meditative frame of mind in preparation for pranayama.

Meditation (Dhayana)

Dhyana occurs when the mind’s focus is undisturbed. Meditation is very good to keep mind in peace. The purpose of meditation is to make our mind calm and peaceful. If our mind is peaceful, we will be free from worries and mental discomfort, and so we will experience true happiness.

Gheranda Samhita introduces three types of meditation:

Sthula Dhaya

When a particular figure is contemplated called Sthula Dhyana

Jyotir Dhyana

Contemplated on light in between both eyebrows is called Jyotir Dhyana.

Suksam Dhyan

when kundali force are contemplated is called Sthula Dhyana.

Copyright © 2017 Yoga Bali India Foundation, Jl. Dr. Muwardi No. 3, Denpasar
We use our own or third party cookies to improve your web browsing experience. If you continue to browse we consider that you accept their use.  Accept